monster mash

The ones we got didn't look like these. My Rock Band character wears ones like these. 

 

the ones we got didn't look like these. my Rock Band character wears ones like these, though.

Did anyone else love this movie when they were a kid?

The recent history of movie theatres in London, Ontario is a sad one.  The New Yorker was slightly before my time, but I hear it spoken fondly of.  I personally had a lot of awkward adolescent first-to-third dates at The Capitol and thought one of the greatest comments on my city was when someone rearranged the marquee message of “Reopening Soon” to RIP when it became quite obvious that the theatre would never be reopening.  

I think it could go without saying that the movie theatre has been in a slow tailspin sine the advents of television, home video, and the internet.   It has affected second-run theatres most as these theatres thrived on the time between theatrical release and home release.  All theatres suffer  movies being downloaded or livestreamed right onto giant home televisions, greatly mimicking the feeling of a plain old movie theatre with more comfortable seating and cheaper snacks.  There, I said it. 

Today I went to see Monsters vs. Aliens in 3D and have decided that after I have my own counter-culture fashion and lifestyle media empire, successfully operate an organic automat cafeteria/diner, and live in an off-the-grid self-sustaining farm, I will be opening an experience theatre.  

The movie was amusing and delightful.  It had interesting ‘monsterous other’ and empowering themes as well as tolerable humour and adorable characters.  But the real star was the 3D animation.  It scared me every time.  It made the movie experience so enjoyable and positively worth the money even though I wasn’t able to use my coupon on 3D movies.  I was reminded of  a documentary I watched in grade nine science on experiential movie theatres in the 50s, including buzzing seats and scratch n’ sniff movies and now I’m convinced it all needs to make a comeback.  

I was worried about the theatre I went to because recently there has been no one there when I’ve gone, except for huge blockbuster opening nights, of course: it is built with a large capacity in mind but I haven’t seen it fully functioning since it opened about a decade ago.  It’s obviously either ill-thought out over consumption, like a big box theatre, or is victim to (un)foreseeable trending.  They did, however, advertise several 3D movies before the feature which may tell of a renewed theatre experience.

The 3D glasses themselves were satisfyingly Buddy Holly-like, and while they can’t be used as sunglasses and aren’t red and blue lensed, I do plan to hold onto mine to use them when I go to my next 3D movie.  However, in order for it to be extremely successful with me and mine, there will need to be non-cartoons made, which currently doesn’t seem to be the case.

This is currently my most anticipated movie. 

p.s. Would you rather a link for a movie be to the wikipedia or imdb page?

3 Comments

Filed under reviews.

3 responses to “monster mash

  1. Christine

    I prefer the IMDB page as I think it usually gives more information than the Wiki page about a film, especially before it is released.

    I enjoy the experience of a movie theater and it is disappointing that due to DVD and internet downloading theaters seem to be loosing out. I don’t really know what the solution is because hell, I work at a second run theater and I still download movies (I am truly evil).

  2. I just saw Monsters vs Aliens in 3D too. It was very cool. It kinda made my eyes tired…but maybe because I was too close to the screen or something.

    I imagine that 3D will be available in home theatres soon, so they’ll need yet another new novelty. I hope theatres never fully die though, because there’s a whole social aspect to them that is lost at home.

    The New Yorker was so awesome. I saw The Breakfast Club there! Woo!

    P.S. I think My Bloody Valentine was live-action and 3D, but maybe only in certain parts.

    • Ashley Bushfield

      I heard about the home 3D the other day. Crazy! Scratch n’ Sniff movie exclusive to theatrical release it is!

Leave a Reply

